Susan Janssen Creighton

Leadership for Learning Innovation

Senior Curriculum/Instructional Design Associate

E-mail Susan Janssen.

Tel: 617-618-7100

Mailing Address:

43 Foundry Avenue
Waltham, Massachusetts 02453-8313

For more than 20 years Susan Janssen Creighton has worked at EDC, focusing on designing high-quality professional development for teachers and developing rigorous K–12 mathematics curricula. She specializes in advancing the use of formative assessment practices in mathematics classrooms and helping teachers make sense of and implement the Common Core State Standards for Mathematics (CCSSM) Standards for Mathematical Practice, with an emphasis on supporting students with learning disabilities.

Creighton is a contributor to the project Formative Assessment in the Mathematics Classroom: Engaging Teachers and Students (FACETS). Funded by the National Science Foundation, FACETS gives teachers tools and strategies that help them support students in playing an active role in monitoring and directing their own mathematics learning, so that they may become more engaged and independent learners. (Read a blog post by Creighton about her work with FACETS.)

She is the lead author of the forthcoming book from Corwin Publishers, Bringing Students into the Formative Assessment Equation: Tools and Strategies for Math in the Middle Grades. She is also a coauthor on several publications, including the paper “Developing a Comprehensive Approach to Local Assessment” for the New York State Department of Education; the MathScape curriculum (Glencoe/McGraw-Hill); the Impact Mathematics curriculum; “Translating Number Words Into the Language of Mathematics”; several PBS “TeacherLine” online professional development modules; and Structured Exploration: New Perspectives on Mathematics Professional Development.

Prior to joining EDC, Creighton was a middle-school and high-school teacher in Portland and Saco, Maine, and in Brookline, Massachusetts.

She earned her BA in Mathematics and MEd in Secondary Education from the University of New Hampshire.